Burnt Sugar [the Arkestra Chamber]


The pre-show Quizzo before the Burnt Sugar concert has been cancelled. That gives you more time to gussy up before the concert. 😉 Be sure to bring some cash so you can grab concessions provided by Leotah’s Place.

Friday, September 28th | 8pm
Burnt Sugar the Arkestra Chamber (NYC)
Conductor led 13-piece orchestra plays ground-breaking arrangements inspired by the music of MILES DAVIS and JAMES BROWN.

$25 in advance/$30 day of show | Members: $18.75/$22.50

“A multiracial jam army that freestyles with cool telekinesis between the lustrous menance of Miles Davis’ On The Corner, the slash-and-om of 1970s King Crimson, and Jimi Hendrix’ moonwalk across the side three of Electric Ladyland.”  – David Fricke, Rolling Stone

Burnt Sugar channels the creative energies of two seminal music figures – the ‘Godfather of Cool/Electro’ and the ‘Godfather of Soul/Funk’ to deliver a far-out symphonic concert experience. From Bitches Brew to Cold Sweat, conductor Greg Tate signals the musical direction of a 13-piece orchestra (arkestra) in two movements. Using a technique called “conduction” Tate pays respect to each iconic boss while breaking new creative ground by channeling energies in the moment.  Until now it would be too hard to imagine how one evening of music could possibly taste so sweet. Burnt Sugar shares their secret during what promises to be a memorable evening of music at the Bride.


Founded by monster bassist Jared Michael Nickerson and Village Voice icon Greg ‘Ionman’ Tate in 1999, Burnt Sugar the Arkestra Chamber is a sprawling band of musicians whose prodigious personnel invite the opportunity to juggle a wide swath within the experimental soul-jazz-hip-hop spectrum. This very accomplished crew has playing credits ranging from Toshi Reagon, DJ Logic, Gary Lucas, TV On The Radio, Tamar Kali, Phish, Willaim Parker, Liz Wright, The Holmes Brothers, Wadada Leo Smith, David Murray and Joseph Bowie.

Personnel: Greg Tate – conductor, Lisala – vocals, Mazz Swift – violin, Lewis Barnes Jr. – trumpet, V. Jeffery Smith – tenor sax, Avram Fefer – tenor sax, Micah Gaugh – alto sax, “Moist” Paula Henderson – bari sax, Dave “Smoota” Smith – trombone, Bruce Mack – synthesizer and keyboards, Andre  Lassalle – guitar, Ben Tyree – guitar, Jason DiMatteo – acoustic bass, Chris Eddleton – drums, LaFrae Sci – drums, Shelley Nicole – vocals, Karma Mayet Johnson – vocal, Mikel Banks – vocal, Mazz Swift – vocal/violin, Lewis Barnes – vocal/trumpet, Jared Michael Nickerson – electric bass

Website: http://burntsugarindex.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/burntsugarband
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/burntsugararkestra